5 Summer Beauty Essentials

It’s finally the first day of summer! Though I love the weather, it’s a nightmare when it comes to maintaining a flawless makeup look – my regular dewy glow now looks like my face is melting. When I think of summer, I think of light makeup and pops of color to brighten things up.

It took me some time, but I think I’ve finally figured out the perfect combination for a flawless look this summer. I’ve switched up my makeup bag quite a bit to accommodate the high temperatures and figured I’d share!

Here are the 5 products that I consider “summer beauty essentials”:

Exfoliator/Body Scrub: Before applying any makeup, I always want to make sure that my skin is in the best condition possible. I try to exfoliate twice a week (sometimes just once) to keep my skin fresh, healthy and glowing. Currently, I’m using The Body Shop Shea Exfoliating Sugar Body Scrub. The benefits of this shea butter scrub are remarkable; it is a very effective exfoliator, the fragrance is subtle and leaves my skin feeling hydrated and healthy.

Tinted Moisturizer/BB Cream: Having a flawless “full-beat” is always amazing for the 500+ bathroom selfies. But, after that is all done, the heavy foundation, dripping in the heat is just a nightmare. During the summer, I rarely wear foundation. Rather, I stick to tinted moisturizers and BB creams, depending on the condition of my skin. My makeup bag currently contains e.l.f Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20. This doesn’t have the best reviews, but it works well for me. It’s very light, blends well, evens out my complexion, and my skin doesn’t look like there’s makeup on it all. I’d recommend it to those who need just a little bit of correction. When I need more coverage, I just match it up with a pressed powder.

All-in-One Cream Stick: The idea behind this is that it’s one single product that you can use for a majority of your makeup application. Amazing, right? I’ve only tried one and instantly fell in love with it. The NARS Multiple – Orgasm Cream Stick has been a lifesaver. I love the lightly pigmented, soft highlight I get when using this as a blush. I was a bit intimidated at first because it looks quite glittery inside the stick, but upon application, I get a beautiful ‘glow’ that goes perfectly with a light dewy look. I would say this product does work all over, the only thing I wouldn’t recommend it for is as an eyeshadow, as it tends to make eyeliner or other shadows smudge once added.

Waterproof Mascara: With the weather being so nice, I tend to be out and about most of the day, which I love. But, the downside to this is that my regular mascara is gone by the time I finally get home. Currently, I’m using a tried-and-true favorite, Maybelline Great Lash Waterproof Mascara. This mascara doesn’t melt off in the heat, even if I choose to go swimming! It provides great curl, volume, and length to my lashes while lasting all day long. I love that it gives me a finished look while still being lightweight.

Long-lasting Liquid Lipstick: Finally, I always make sure to carry several colors around with me. I think I have almost every color of the Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick, it is one product that has never let me down. Most of the time I rock a neutral look, but also switch it up every once in a while with a pop of color, depending on my outfit. Not matter what I’m doing throughout the day (eating included), these lipsticks always last throughout the day, an essential during this summer weather.

Well, that’s it for my list. What are your thoughts? And what are your summer beauty essentials?

One thought on “5 Summer Beauty Essentials

Leave a comment